What do I do?

soulfly28

As far as musically, has your playing gone stagnant? Do you openly and purposely challenge yourself? I did a quick read on the journal that you had linked. Other than the co-worker, I think everyone struggles through a stage somewhat like what you go through. Mine was when my father died, rather unexpectedly, during a routine surgery. It made me realize just how truly short life is. And really, only concern yourself which matters most. I can not tell you what that is, as it can be different for each individual. I am not a professional musician. I saw sheet music (in 1990), but I always challenge myself. I may fail a million times on a piece of music. When I get it done though, it is a very (and truly) happy moment.

mikeyhanson

Silver Member
Exactly what MaryO says. Let your enthusiasm take you. Don't rationalize a purpose into your playing just yet. You're at a stage where you could go in many directions, and the more open your mind is to them, the more happy you will be when you find your path.

Why do you want to drum? You drum because you love it.

It sounds like you know what you don't want to do [play in bars, orchestras, etc]. Now it's just a matter of finding what you want to do. There are many different directions, and you can go crazy just thinking about the possibilities. The best thing is to play what's comfortable, what will help you grow at the pace you want, and be even-handed in your approach. You might not know what that is right this second, but with more confidence gained, the more willing you'll be to spread your wings.
You came back after all that time. Try not to think about the time lost. Think about that you came back, understand more, and are willing to give it a more concerted effort.

So don't overthink. Just play. It'll all shake out.

MaryO

Platinum Member