Well...... It's been a year

shadowtick

One year ago today I started playing again after a 20 year layoff, and after practicing tonight, I sat down with a drink, put on "A Love Supreme" and began thinking about the drums, music and how my relationship with both has changed since I started playing again.

Th last year has been great, been taking lessons twice a month, and am working with stick control and groove essentials. I have placed zero expectations on myself - I found when I was younger if I did not improve as quickly as I thought I should I would get frustrated and tense up. I have since learned that things develop at their own pace regardless of what I think about them. And if i relax and let myself just enjoy playing- things seem to come along more quickly.

Things I have learned:

- Consistent, focused instruction has helped me immensely

-While I admire, and enjoy many drummers the common thread that they all have is a uniqueness in sound.........something inside that comes out...While I can learn from appreciate and love them all, I have my own unique voice to add to the tradition of our art. 'There is only one Steve Gadd--- but conversely their is only one me. Not that I am anywhere even close to his ability but my goal is to find my own voice for my own songs

-When I was younger i used to be a "purist" or perhaps "elitist' when it came to electronics
Right now I am totally in love with VST technology. My wife makes short films and I find one of my greatest joys is working on the soundtracks with her

-There is a whole universe of music I missed out on growing up, some of it i really like, other things i don't get but i find myself listening more intently

- Sometimes accidents happen and they sound good- let them happen

-Lastly I am thankful to the members of this forum for their insight, advice and generosity of spirit

Looking forward to many more years of learning and enjoying.

Bo Eder

Platinum Member