Using less hat

Duck Tape

Platinum Member
I'm just thinking out loud really.

This is a new one for me - I just started playing covers and not too long ago I had a wrist injury (so that might factor in) but playing alot of these 4 on the floor type beats, money beats etc I almost feel like the hihat can be a waste of energy, and if they're being drowned out by the kick or snare, what's the point?

It's a flawed argument because it does sound and feel a bit different but I am running with it, just for a laugh. Maybe a stylistic thing, maybe to save my wrist, maybe because I don't care for some songs.

Actually I couldn't even do it before because I never had the limb independence to play without the hi-hat as a time keeper.

This feels like some kind of milestone. Am I out of line? Is this a sin in the drum bible?

dmacc

Platinum Member
My opinion which may be very "dated".
If you think in terms of a mix on a record/cd in much of Pop music, the hi hat is generally farther back in the mix. The time played on the hi hat helps to propel the overall time feel.

It's not generally there to be an in-your-face sort of thing.

Steve Gadd, Porcaro, and all the other major forces that recorded so many tunes were / are masters at this element of the set.

Just my view which isn't necessarily correct.

iwearnohats

Silver Member
Drumming is an art form, it is expression.

While we are bound by the rule of keeping solid time, and while there are aspects of drumming related to dynamics that should be obeyed to sound good, ultimately what you play is an expression of how you believe something should sound.

The moment you realise that the rule book about what you 'have to play' is blank and has been scribbled in with crayons by people who think they know everything, you can throw it out the window and play what you want.

Just make sure you're keeping good, solid time. Does the four on the floor fit without the hats? You be the judge.