Upgrading Hi-Hat & Snare Stand

double bass man

I am about to upgrade my cheap Hi-Hat & snare stands. Advice welcome:

a) 2 or 3 legged stand ?
b) Double braced or single legs? A good solid single braced stand preferred?

Many thanks

Last edited:

Soulfinger

3 legs. 2 legs are for easier positioning when using multiple pedals.
Single braced will do fine. I´ve had my Yamaha 600 series hardware for 20 years now and it´s still going strong.

harryconway

Platinum Member
On the hi-hat, you might want to go legless if double bass (two bass drums) is what you do 100% of the time.

+1 on single braced Yamaha hardware. I use mostly 600 and 700 series stuff. The tripod on the 700 hi-hat rotates to accommodate double-pedal/double bass playing.

trickg

Silver Member
I'm a single kick player, and I prefer a 3 leg stand. With that said, some of the better HH stands out there are 2 leg stands, so it is what it is. I've been using a basic Pearl 800 series HH stand since about 2004, and I'm very used to it. If it ever breaks or I find I want to "upgrade it, I'm not sure what direction I'd go. The Pearl 905 is probably the closest that Pearl makes to what I currently have, but since I use Tama IC Pedals, I'd probably get a the Iron Cobra 605 - both are sturdy, mid-level HH stands, and either one would no doubt get the job done just fine and provide me with another 15+ years of use.

As for snare stands, again, I've used Pearl snare stands since 2004 - I have a pair of 800 series stands. They are completely nothing fancy - both have gear tilters and basic setup and height adjustment, so I'd probably replace those with Tama RoadPro stands. Again, I don't personally see the need for anything more than a gear tilter, and it seems to be closer to what I'd want now than anything Pearl has to offer.