Touring

RyanL

Hey all!
In about a month I'm going to depart for approx. 2 weeks with my band for a tour in the northeastern region of the states. Besides doing a few out of state shows/2-3 day "minitours," I have little experience with touring. I'm looking for some necessities to bring with me and any advice from those who have toured before. So far I know to stack up on drumsticks and make sure not to lose anything but I'm sure there is much to know!

tbmills

Gold Member
as far as the kit goes make sure to take extra...
sticks
heads
felts
cymbal sleeves
snare cord
any and all parts that could break...

bojangleman

Platinum Member
as far as the kit goes make sure to take extra...
sticks
heads
felts
cymbal sleeves
snare cord
any and all parts that could break...
yeah...thats soo true..

one of the bands we play with alot that is on tour right now, their drummer showed up, and his reso side on his bass had been completely shattered..he ended up using my bass..but, sometimes, you wont be that lucky..

Alex

dkerwood

Silver Member
Be sure to bring lots of bottles of water. When I'm out on the road, my vaporizer is my best friend, although if you don't sing, it might not be as important. Also some vitamin tablets might be wise.

Try to get enough sleep. I know it's tough, but your body will start to shut down if you push yourself too hard.

Above all, have fun! I miss hitting the road for a few days.

bermuda

Drummerworld Pro Drummer - Administrator
Staff member
Make a list, and start now so you can think about everything you'll need for the length of time you're gone. Add every stupid little thing to the list, no matter how obvious it may seem (because that's exactly the item you'll forget!) Toothbrush, floss, cell phone charger, socks, postage stamps, spare cymbal felts... everything. When it's time to start packing, print the list and cross things off as you pack them. It's foolproof.