tips for training a weak hand?

MattK

My left hand isn't up to par with my right when it comes to drumming, does anyone have any really good tips for training it?

kettles

Gold Member
Here's what I did recently and it helped a lot. I just started playing german grip not long ago and wanted to get my hands in shape.

Get your metronome out, find out the fastest tempo your RIGHT hand can play straight 8th notes (with the stick raising to about 6 inches off the pad) smoothly for 2 minutes without tensing up or experiencing any pain at all. For me it was about 170 bpm with german grip.

Next find out what your left hand's top speed is, take about 40 bpm bit off that tempo and try with your left hand. First start with one minute and if you can do it totally relaxed, try go for to two minutes. Then three minutes, four, up to five. Each minute increase requires more relaxation. You can raise the speed if you like, but I personally found sticking to one tempo (135) for a while helped my control a lot. After about a week I jumped straight to 5 minutes at 145.

If you find the two minutes easy, just go up in tempo a little, say 5bpm. the point of figuring out my right hand's fastest speed was kind of like a reference point - I knew that my left was weaker, but not a huge amount. This exercise might do with some refinement from one of the pros here ;)

Other things I do to train up my left hand is do single stroke rolls leading with the left, and put and accent at the beginning of each bar. I don't recommend an accent every beat as this might lead you to using a pumping motion which isn't really the goal.

larryace

"Uncle Larry"
Play open handed and ride with your left.
Play a texas shuffle (where the left hand shuffles on the snare, quarters on the ride and kick).
Your dominant hand usually plays way more notes than your backbeat hand, (because you ride with it) you need to be able to do it either way comfortably.

Neil