Tiki Cocktail set

Deathmetalconga

Platinum Member
Here is a photo of me playing the Tiki Set a couple of weeks ago. I was playing with a keyboardist and a violinist and I'd move to the congas for some songs.

Screenshot_7.jpg

GruntersDad

Administrator - Mayor
I was watching your right hand and it appears that the stick is not up in the crotch of your thumb and forefinger like it's really loose. Am I seeing correctly.?

Deathmetalconga

Platinum Member
Nice video DMC. What kind of camera did you use? Great picture quality. Are you a lefty, or did you just configure the cocktail kit that way?
Thank you about that. I am just getting into videoing.

I used a Kodak Play/Touch. It has a very good built-in mic but I used a Shure Beta 52 kick drum mic at the bottom and a Shure SM57 mic on the top, run through a Mackie 1202 mixer and then into the mic jack of the camera.

I play open, left hand hats and ride, right hand snare, so I set up the cocktail kit that way. A crossed player could put their hats on their right, near their ride, and play open as well. There is no hihat stand, just a bass drum pedal and you switch feet to play it to reduce fatigue, so there is no practical purpose in crossing the hands/sticks to play hats in a cocktail set.

LukeSnyder

Gold Member
I tell you, there is nothing like it. Playing standing up is a kick in the pants. Get a cocktail set and see for yourself. The portability and cool factor cannot be beat.
I know, I've messed around for a bit on one before! They're quite possibly the coolest thing since sliced bread, haha.

ineedaclutch

Platinum Member
Tiki kit is interesting and sounds great. I am checking out your Terra Sonus tracks. Totally digging it. Very interesting sound scapes. Keep it up.

Deathmetalconga

Platinum Member
Nice video DMC. What kind of camera did you use? Great picture quality. Are you a lefty, or did you just configure the cocktail kit that way?