Thinking About the Future

Zackman

Hey, I rarely post here, but I was hoping maybe you guys could help me out. I've always, without a question, wanted to play drums for a living. I've been playing for 13 years, get lots of recognition, get asked to play for people all the time, and have been accepted into Berklee (except I can't afford it). So I figure I must be doing something right. I'm confident in my abilities to play in any situation. How realistic do you think it is to make a career out of playing drums (without teaching)? I'm only 20, so I do have a long life ahead of me(hopefully). Basically I'm juggling between moving to a bigger city and persuing drumming, or going to university for a different career (in which the drumming would obviously take a back seat). Any suggestions or insight on your part is much apprectiated. Thanks!

A

audiotech

You've probably already heard much of what I'm going to say. Out of the thousands and thousands of great drummers, there's just a handful that makes their living solely from being a great drummer, most usually just use the extra income to supplement their 9 to 5 employment. If you really have something in your heart that you really want to do and you have the talent to do it, then there shouldn't be anything to stop you. It will take a lot of sacrifice and dedication on your part. I would also say reading music is a must, being a sight reader is even better. You say you've been playing for thirteen years and you're just twenty now, I feel as if I got started late, I was eight when I first started taking lessons, lol.

I know some others will chime in with good representations concerning this topic. Good luck in whatever you decide.

Dennis

bermuda

Drummerworld Pro Drummer - Administrator
Staff member
There are many topics and perspectives on this subject in this and other fora, it's worth a search.

In a nutshell: