The same old journey.

keep it simple

Platinum Member
As most of you know, I had a previous playing life, then took a near 25 year break. I mean a total break. I completely fell out of love with music - period.

Anyhow, "events" brought me back to playing, & here I am now. Back in the day, I went through the typical evolution from 100 notes/bar to realising what actually matters. You know, the usual stuff (groove, dynamics, choices, timing, etc). I went through that evolution very quickly, because I started to play for a living, & got a sharp shock almost from day one.

Well, I've just been looking over some of my videos, & I find I went through the same evolution this time around too. I don't practice much at all (to my profound detriment), I just sort of "evolve". Nevertheless, when I first picked up the sticks again, I could hardly play anything, so I pushed myself to try to pull off some of the more slick stuff buried in my former playing life memory. More as a means to get my damn brain, hands, & feet working than anything else. I knew it wasn't how I'd eventually play. After all, I didn't need to learn the same lessons twice, but I did it anyhow.

I started off by playing (rather badly, looking back on it) crap like this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N4yKuX2J9NQ

& noodling crap like this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yyWG-eCo2uc

That early stuff then morphed into much more useable stuff like this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-_l2R2t6f_k

But I ended up playing more like this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZC14YuDWEis

So there we are, the same old same old. Just an interesting retrospective for me :)

Duck Tape

Platinum Member
It must be in your DNA. I am burning out a bit lately so I have been wondering what would happen if I just stopped, and what I'd be like coming out of a long hiatus.

I know that you take time to watch other drummers in the 'your playing' forum, I bet that plays a part in your evolution.