The pros and cons ... or the cons of pros

Pollyanna

Platinum Member
There's a side discussion going on about what's good and not good about being a pro drummer in the self-taught thread. I feel it deserves its own thread.

You could probably throw a stone in here (figuratively speaking) and hit someone who had once wanted to be a pro but life got in the way. Let's find out what we missed out on! Let the up-and-comers find out what they are really hoping for.

Skitch & Jay, you might want to copy and paste to save re-writing if you decide to post.

Bo Eder

Platinum Member
We're just talking about people who work as musicians for a living, right? We're not talking about the upper-1% of people who achieve some kind of stardom, I hope?

Then those of us who attempted to make a living at, or did at one point, would qualify for this discussion?

It's funny being a sound guy at Disneyland because the musicians I meet are all working towards the day they never have to play anymore. It's kind of a running joke here, and musicians that work for the mouse have it a little better than those who don't, but alot of the same challenges face them.

When I was younger all I wanted to do was play and be able to make a living at it. To an extent I achieved some of that, but as life took over, I began to see what I was really hoping for:

Never taking a vacation - let's face it, as a musician you are somebody's vacation!
Never earning money when you did take a vacation - and you didn't have enough when you were working.
Unless you had alot of money in the bank, you weren't seeing a doctor, either. Your average emergency room visit in Southern California is about $1500. More if you need tests (you ever watch 'House'? Yeah, every case who comes in must have insurance, eh?)
No retirement, again, a money flow issue, when you only get enough to pay your current bills, how do you put anything away for the days when you physically can't play anymore?