The MacGruder Method???

brittc89

Pioneer Member
I had this strange idea a while ago and I thought I would tell you about it. So I go to school and Im studying jazz music, a big part of it is learning vocabulary, then inevitably deconstructing that vocabulary, etc. So I thought, what if I personified the sounds of a drummer who did not physically exist, my ideal sounding player. So I did. And I named him Charles MacGruder. So heres what happened, I played and I was trying to just focus on copping Charles MacGruder's stuff, but in essence I was just playing purely was I was hearing, my ideal sound, I just needed to execute. It was all my influences and all my creativity wrapped into this one ideal. And I actually really like the results. Call me schizophrenic, call me a fool, call me Charles MacGruder, or maybe make up your own "cat" and try and steal their licks.

keep it simple

Platinum Member
Ha, I like that a lot. You're not completely crazy, a sort of character based self analysis, very cool. Any chance of hearing Charles's work?

Coldhardsteel

Gold Member
I like this method. It seems like a good physiological aspect of becoming a better drummer. However, do you think it would really work for anyone? I wonder if it's the most effective way to tapping into your true creativity.

larryace

"Uncle Larry"
I've already done that, and took it too far. My name really isn't Larry. My avatar...not me. I searched for a pic of the handsomeset guy I could find and stole it. Any playing I posted, not me either. My real name is Barney Gottlieb and I'm actually a fairly sucessful loser. The persona I created here is the only thing keeping me tethered to the world of the sane....

Pollyanna

Platinum Member
I like it.

Britt, it would have taken a fair bit of thought to tease the aspects of those players into a whole that sounded cohesive to you? When I try to do it, it's a all a bit amorphous. I could be Meg-a-Gadda-da-Jordan for inspiration :)