The Lefty Ride Cymbal Dilemma!

Benellio

I feel i should give this a short intro, just to put my situaton into perspective...

I'm a completely self taught drummer, started when i was 13, played for 5 years and i've just set my kit up yesterday after a 5 and a half year break, so i am VERY rusty. I actually felt quite 'down' after establishing just how rusty i am! Quite sad really, because i could hold my own. If you spend 5 years doing something as a hobby then chances are you'll become pretty good at it! Anyway, that's the intro...

Now, the clear problem with being a lefty and playing on a right handed kit is where to put the ride cymbal. Personally I hate having the ride somewhere near the hi-hat, it just doesnt feel right, it obviously play's comfortably but it doesn't look right either.
This got me thinking about ambidexterity and if it is actually possible to train yourself/practice to become 100% ambidextrous. I read one of the many posts on this topic and agreed with someone saying it's in our genes to be dominant with one appendage. Anyone who isn't this way is a unique human being and obviously a rare breed.

I am also right footed so this doesn't help with swapping the kit around!

Thoughts? Can anyone relate?

topgun2021

Gold Member
I am right handed and left footed.

We're opposites!

Who cares how it looks, just put your cymbal where you want it.

Benellio

We're opposites!

How have you set your kit up? I'm getting confused trying to think!

I don't like the look of it, i know looks aren't important but i don't like having this huge 20" cymbal basically in my face! Needless to say that takes up so much space too.
I would like couple of splashes and a small china/trash to my left, so no space for mr ride!

Deathmetalconga

Platinum Member

We're opposites!