Teaching a teenager who doesn't listen to music

kettles

Gold Member
So I have this student, who I've been teaching for about six months and he shows a lot of potential. But he doesn't actually listen to music! He doesn't own any music, has no favourite bands, just hasn't really caught the music bug yet. I'm finding it hard to motivate him to practice because he doesn't have any aspirations to play any particular genre or like his (non-existent) favourite drummers. I have tried introducing a lot of different music but nothing has caught on.

Would one of the grades systems (Trinity and the like) be worth considering? I think there's a chance he will be motivated by having measurable goals to work towards and getting to the next grade. I don't have any experience with grades, they are virtually non existent here. Any other ideas would be greatly appreciated!

NUTHA JASON

Senior Administrator