Teaching a 5 year old?

Boris

Hey,

This is one for all the teachers out there: What's the best way to go about teaching a five year old?

I'm relatively new to teaching but have started getting the hang of things, but all the students up to this point have been at least 11.

Ive just booked in a five year old, and was wondering whether anyone out there has had any experience with someone this young and could offer maybe some ideas for the first lesson or just some general tips?

Thanks everyone

Drumsword

Pioneer Member
I've never taught anyone that young, sorry. But maybe you could keep mentioning that you also teach Spongebob or Dora the explorer and they LOVE the drums and practice everything they are shown everyday. ;)

kwolf68

My son will be 4 in Oct and he's 'playing' drums...right now I just let him do what he wants and it's hard to keep him off the kit. I don't know that many 4 or 5 year olds would have the attention span to do paradiddles. Some do of course, but those kids are the exception.

Even though my son isn't doing anything much on the drums...even at less than 4 he is FAR better than anything by 11 year old son or my 6 year old daughter can come up with. I think he's going to be a decent drummer if he wants to keep up with it. The kid is amazingly coordinated.

jeffwj

Platinum Member
With 5 year olds, there is a lot of variation. Some have a good attention span. Others are not mature enough to sit though a lesson and pay attention. Call me at the number on my website and I can offer a bit more information.

Jeff

Just Drums

Silver Member
We teach a few that young and honestly I'm not sure a single one of them has the attention span to sit thru a 15 minute lesson much less a 30 minute. At that age, there's is plenty you can teach but in general, you have to make it much more "fun" and game like.

W

wy yung

I have a few youngsters, including a couple of 5 year olds and this is what I've learned.