Taiko drummer - first questions on sound insulation

rindojim

Hi All

I'm new to the forum and have spent the past few hours reading older threads about soundproofing and insulating.

I have a couple of quick initial questions I didn't really find clear answers too. Here's a rundown of my situation for context.

I teach Japanese taiko drumming for a living. At the moment I have a great space - big wooden hall in a valley. Don't bother anyone.

My wife and I have just bought a house where I want to offer more classes (my current hall is being used to capacity now - no more space/times for rent there - lots more interest).

The house is a large-ish farm house with an old pig stall about 4m x 8m in size and about 2.5m in height, and an adjoining garage workspace the same size. A load bearing wall separates these two spaces. The carport and the neighbour are on the other side of that workspace(not attached at all). I'm planning on converting the pig stall into my new teaching space.

The 2 side walls are solid concrete about a foot thick. The floor and ceiling is also concrete. We'll put in a triple glazed window at the back wall and brick the rest up and more than likely brick up the front wall as well (a large triple glazed door would be nice at some stage but is out of the budget now). There is a connecting door on one side wall to the cellar stairs which lead down to the cellar and up to the living space. Will probably replace that with something heavy.

I've read a lot of mention about sheetrock here. My first question is - will the mass of the existing walls (plus the extra space of the adjoining garage between me and the neighbour) be enough to control the noise or should I be looking further at sound reducing solutions?