Support your local music store!

bmuren

I get the impression that many of you guys get almost all of your gear over the internet, mostly because the array in the stores is too small or the prices are a little bit higher.

Guys, support your local music store! If the store doesn't have what you want, then make them order it for you. I have had some good experiences where some piece of drum gear breaks, and the store gives me a new one.

Do we want a good local music store? Then we better "make" one.

(Just wanted to say it. Feel free to discuss and share experiences about your store)

Err

My 'local music store" has let me down several times where as Guitar Center and On-Line stores have always came through in the clutch for me!

caddywumpus

Platinum Member
I have tried to support the local music stores, but they keep going out of business. There ARE a couple that are still doing well, and I support them whenever possible. I have only bought 2 pieces of gear online, and everything else I bought where I could look at it, hold it, and PLAY IT IN PERSON before buying. I almost never buy stuff from the local box stores, unless it's a deal and in the used section...

Pocket-full-of-gold

Platinum Member
It's pretty simple really. When they stop charging 2 to 3 times the US price for the same piece of equipment, they'll get all the support I can muster.

Until then, I owe it to my family to save every penny I can. You wanna pay top dollar for the same item, that's your bag. Me?.....the cash is better off in my pocket and I won't apologise for ensuring that it is. It's not a matter of not wanting to, more a matter of music stores in Oz being commercially unviable for anything outside of heads, sticks and other smaller items. :)

Last edited:

larryace

"Uncle Larry"