Sum yourself up

keep it simple

Platinum Member
Ok, I've been a member of this forum for a while now & I love it. Loads of opinions about noted players & members posting their stuff for others to comment on, but what about your opinion of yourself as a drummer. Let's hear honestly how you rate yourself. Your style, your strengths, & ultimately, your weaknesses. I find it really grounding to recognize what I'm good at, and therefore, what gives me pleasure. Maybe you're happy where you are right now, or maybe you're aiming for the stars. I'll kick off with me.

I'm a basic rock drummer, both in terms of my playing style and what I like to play. My command of the rudiments is quite poor, especially double stroke & paradiddle routines, but my single stroke work is strong. I think my interpretation, feel & dynamic skills are good. I'm inventive, solid, powerful and sensitive when needed but my repertoire is limited by my lack of rudiment ability. I like to introduce space in my playing to allow the music to breathe. I love powerful but quite naked grooves and fills that challenge the beatwork. I'm happy with where I'm at and have enough skills & experience to make good music. I'd like to progress my rudiment skills but I'm not going to kill myself doing it.

Let's hear it from you guys. I'm intrigued. Go on, be brave!

larryace

"Uncle Larry"
The only opinion that matters to me about my own drumming is not my own, it is of the other musicians who I get to play with. It's not about me, it's about everyone but me.

Pollyanna

Platinum Member
Hahaha, I'm not that brave :)