Start reading

smurd

Hi folks.
long story short - i want to apply to the drummer's collective in spring 2012. so i'm practising very much and preparing myself. but there is one thing i'm pretty bad at...reading!
so i just want to ask if you guys know books / dvds etc. to start improving my reading skills. not only full notations but also chart reading

Have to add, that i'm able to read and get into that but takes me quite a while. so i'm not an absolute beginner.

any suggestions?

cheers,
felix.

double_G

Silver Member
Steve Fidyk's "inside the big band drum chart" book looks great, but i just don't have it (yet): http://www.stevefidyk.com/HTML/Methods_and_Product.html

i would get the Steve Houghton big band, anthology and soloist books and read down a few charts each day (seriously). reading something every day will give you an big advantage in the audition / ensemble placement. then Igoe's GE 2.0 book has charts/MP3s, but i found that i spent more time getting the groove down before i played thru the tune w/ the drum chart. so maybe put that on the back-burner.

Dr_Watso

Platinum Member
Trust me, "reading" drum notation is really pretty easy. Once you get the basics, you can stumble through most stuff. To be able to "sight read" isn't as easy, but even that just comes with practice.

One thing that helps is to read grooves from a book, but don't read a section then play it, play each quarter or 1/8 or whatever time it's in as you read it. Start slow.

jeffwj

Platinum Member
Steve Fidyk's "inside the big band drum chart" book looks great, but i just don't have it (yet): http://www.stevefidyk.com/HTML/Methods_and_Product.html