Stage custom snare tuning piece stuck?

Vareee

I'm pretty new to drumming in general, and I just bought a used 2014 Stage Custom kit off CL and am trying to get everything set up and working. The guy sold the snare without snares on it and with a broken head, so it's a bit suspicious to begin with.

Anyway, I notice on one side of the snare-attachment parts there is something with a spring and a twisting bolt, above the part which you need a drum key to tighten. Check out the following picture (not my snare), it's the big part right in the center:

The issue is, this part won't turn, which is making fine-tuning the snare difficult (which seems like its purpose). Is it stuck, or is there a way to loosen it up or unlock it or something? I've done a bit of research and can't find much info on it. I can get some real life pictures if it would help out, too.

Thanks guys.

Duck Tape

Platinum Member
That's called a snare strainer. It pulls the snares against the bottom head. You operate it by moving the lever up and down.

Is the lever down when you try to adjust the knob? It should help. If the tension adjustment (turny knobby thing) is busted you can work around it by undoing the strainer, then undoing the two tension rods that tighten the plastic strap on the snare wires. Adjust the snare wires by positioning the plastic strap and tighten the screws back up. That might take a few attempts to get it right.

This actually happened to my stage custom snare, it might be worth upgrading the strainer.

Vareee

Right, I'm talking about the turny-knob-thing (i.e. Tension adjustment) here. It's supposed to turn, correct? Mine simply won't turn. Do I have to do anything special to get it to turn? There seems to be a hole in the side I could put a mini Allen Wrench in but not 100% sure.