Sore Joints

blondebimbodrummer

Hi everyone

so I have been playing drums for about 15 or so years and recently over the last week or 2 I have started to notice my fingers and wrists kinda aching for no apparent reason mainly on my left side.

I am a right handed player. I haven't changed my technique, if anything my technique now is better than it has ever been so I am really confused as to why all of a sudden I am feeling uncomfortable. After today I have a kind of dull ache down my left arm and an almost numbness from elbow to fingers and I haven't even played that much.

Has anybody else had anything similar to this?

How did you resolve it?

Thanks a lot

GruntersDad

Administrator - Mayor
Staff member
I'm not a doctor but I did sleep in a Holiday Express last night. Could be many things.
1. posture. have you changed recently ? throne higher or lower.
2. equipment moved? right hand ride cymbal height adjusted.
3. age? I won't ask.
4. Snare head? New one and much tighter than in the past. Tight snare heads make my hands hurt, but I am old and too stubborn to change.
5. Sticks? Different size or length or weight?

So many things but try to eliminate ones that don't make sense.

Chunky

Silver Member
That could be carpel tunnel syndrome! definitly need to get checked out. You may have to adjust things if it is, avoid holding the sane position too long, vibration reduction I'm sure there's many other thibmngs which can help.
They'll probably inject your wrise with steroids, which will work a treat but I'm not sure how many times they can do that as it leaves you prone to infection. Once they've taken the initital pain away you should be able to avoid it for the most part.
Good luck and let us know how it goes.

larryz

Platinum Member