so my band wants to do top 40s...

cr.drums

but I'm mainly a hard rock/metal drummer and has totally no feel for doing top 40s or pop/mainstream songs...

Remember my first gig post? Well, my bassist and vocalist are still in it and my bassist introduced another guitarist. Our plan is to jam and rearrange top 40s/pop/mainstream songs and try to partake in gigs next year.

Exams are coming in three weeks time, so we are taking a break, however, the plan is to listen and do about 20-30 songs when we get back together. My first thought was, wow 20-30 songs, how am I gonna learn them all?! But they told me to just get the feel of the songs and just play by feel...

For me, this is my first band and I mainly play to songs at home...so I am almost clueless to just playing a groove off my head. If i hear a song, I just try to replicate what the drummer plays exactly...so the problem is, I can't possibly replicate all 20-30 songs perfectly, and those songs aren't exactly my type so I don't have much feel for them...

We've been jamming for the past two weeks and playing some simple stuff but I feel rather 'unchallenged' and 'bored' playing these songs...I prefer hammering my cymbals and doing some double bass patterns...However, metal/rock bands/gigs are probably hard to find where I live (Singapore), furthermore, I don't consider myself good and solid enough to play in a metal band.

So the bottom line is...do I continue with them as a band and play stuff that I don't really enjoy, or go back to playing alone in my room to tracks and slowly find a rock/metal band?

picodon

Silver Member
Do you think the others will learn 20-30 songs overnight or any faster than you will? Subscribe to spotify or a similar service and you can practise and play along all of them. Don't aim for perfection, make it sound good to the audience. Play for the song. Maybe the large number of songs to learn will even help you keep it simple :)