Singing and playing?

cantstoplt021

I'm a guitarist who is learning drums with the goal of being good at both. Most of my favorite guitarists are able to sing while they play complicated things. I'm wondering if it is easy to sing and drum at the same time (once you're a good drummer that is). Since drumming involves doing 4 different things with each limb you have already taught your brain how to do different things at the same time. I'm assuming this might transfer over to singing as well? At any rate I'm sure it will make singing and playing guitar at the same time easier.

Bo Eder

Platinum Member
It's like anything else. If there's a desire to learn how to do it, you'll get it down. I've been singing and drumming for over 30 years now and it was pretty easy for me to pick it up in the beginning, so if I could do it, anybody can.

JustJames

Platinum Member
I drum and sing at the same time, with breathtaking degree of mediocrity. Please do not take that for false modesty; it is true honesty.

Some songs I need to simplify the drum part to cope, but it's no more difficult than playing guitar and singing.

drummer-russ

Gold Member
I sing and play. In some cases I too simplify the drumming. I do find I have to work at some songs more than others. Often vocals come in ahead of the beat, and that is a challenge especially if you are finishing a fill. Take practice. And there are some drum parts I simply cannot sing along too, at least not yet.

New Tricks

Platinum Member
I don't sing well but I learned to do it rather quickly.

Like someone else mentioned, sometimes you have to modify your parts and it's a lot easier to modify drum parts than piano or guitar parts.

The rhythm of the song has a LOT to do with hoe easy/difficult it is.

I spent a few hours trying to play/sing Who Do You Love.....then I gave up.

spleeeeen

Platinum Member