serious help needed with a career in music

danbo

this thread should be in its own section called long serious questions.general discussion just doesnt cut it.
OK.here goes.
This is a big one.

Serious answers only please :)

I thought about asking a few little questions but decided that as i've been reading these forums for quite a long while now, and I respect a lot of the thought and honesty that seems to go into your answers I thought i'd lay it all on the line.

I've been playing for 14 years and live for drumming.I teach 3 days a week, study and observe and transcribe and create ideas every day, i've written so many beats and licks down im thinking of making several books.i'm in 3 bands, and although this all sounds good, 1 band is a once a week covers band in a local boozer, 1 in an original band with my bro that gigged for 9 years locally and got /are getting nowhere slowly.1band that plays very infrequently in poland ( thhat i joined a year ago) that is basically breaking even and and "has potential".
Im making a living in the loosest sense,living at home,got beer money and saving a little, but i want to really make a serious career in drumming/music and dont know how to start.

THE PROBLEMS:
1.i'm VERY happy.i have an easy life (basically working 3 days a week)doing what i enjoy doing and can just about afford to buy and do most reasonable things i want to.im seriously lacking the inspiration to change! ( :eek:) )
1.a.i love my family and have a close circle of friends that i dont think i could move away from (from a small norhtern england village neer Sheffield to london-for example)for a career-im not really what you call a work oriented ambitious person.im a musician!! ;)

2 I live at home and have a girlfriend who wants us to live together1 big inspiration to change..I cant see me getting a mortgage with a 3 day teaching career and renting seems like money in the bin .