Reading Quintuples

clide890

I recently started learning how to read drum notations. I learned how to read quintuples when written has a 16th note, with the 2 lines at the top, but I stumbled on a drum sheet, Alter Ego by Anika Nilles, and it has quintuples written in 8th note format, instead of 2 only 1 bar on the top. I have attached a image and I honestly have no clue how to read it. Any help?

Thanks

Attachments

GruntersDad

Administrator - Mayor
Staff member
Is there a time signature associated with that measure or piece??

And now the attachment is gone??/

M

Matt Bo Eder

View attachment 71043I recently started learning how to read drum notations. I learned how to read quintuples when written has a 16th note, with the 2 lines at the top, but I stumbled on a drum sheet, Alter Ego by Anika Nilles, and it has quintuples written in 8th note format, instead of 2 only 1 bar on the top. I have attached a image and I honestly have no clue how to read it. Any help?

Thanks
If your time signature uses the quarter note as getting the beat, then your playing the quintuplets in the space of one quarter note, or two 8th notes. If your time signature is based on an 8th note getting the beat, then the quintuplets is played over two beats.

clide890

The whole song is in 4/4. At the top of the music sheet it shows 160 bpm and under it it says half time back beat, if that matters.

clide890

If your time signature uses the quarter note as getting the beat, then your playing the quintuplets in the space of one quarter note, or two 8th notes. If your time signature is based on an 8th note getting the beat, then the quintuplets is played over two beats.
I'm more of a visual person so this was kinda of hard to picture. I mostly visualize it it using the 1 e + a and so on.

Odd-Arne Oseberg

Platinum Member
If the notation is correct and you're counting quarters you'll have to aquaint yourself with 5 over 2.