Question on tuning

GruntersDad

Administrator - Mayor
Staff member
If I was to use the same head, batter, on various depth drums, all at the same drum dial numbers, would the drum depth make the drums sound bigger or do I still need to tune lower for deeper drums. I don't own a drum dial so I can't test this. Thanks for any input.

P

PDPx7Drummer

I generally tune top and bottom the same with my Evans torque key, starting at maybe a few clicks or in terms with a normal drum key an 1/8 or 1/4 of a turn above JAW on the 16 and then the fundamental tone of each drum as you go up takes care of it. I honestly can't tune it too high to make it melodic because they choke out too early. Maybe with the 12 mil single ply I could but not with these Emps. Really unless you tune to a certain pitch or to fit your bands sound I wouldn't worry too much about it.

Feel free to correct me here as I am still new to this stuff....

DrumEatDrum

Platinum Member
If I was to use the same head, batter, on various depth drums, all at the same drum dial numbers, would the drum depth make the drums sound bigger or do I still need to tune lower for deeper drums. I don't own a drum dial so I can't test this. Thanks for any input.
Are you assuming the same diameter?
Or a regular set of drums that get bigger as they get deeper?

On a regular set of toms, use the same dial tension all the way around will still yield the results of the larger toms sounding deeper than the smaller toms.

When I have used a dial, I set all the rack toms to the same number. The floor tom might be slightly lower number, but not by much.

But of course, as you know, a dial only gets you close, fine tuning still often needs to be done by hand. And the tune-bot appears to be making the dial obsolete.

I need to dig mine (the Tama version) out of the closet and sell it before everyone realizes they're obsolete. LOL.

GruntersDad

Administrator - Mayor
Staff member