playing live

mxracer591

hey guys, i'm new here, but I have a question that I'm sure has been asked before at some point by drummers everywhere. I've been playing somewhat casually for about 7 years, only in the past 2 or 3 have I really buckled down and started practicing with a metronome and all that good stuff. I think I have a bit of bad technique built in from the years of just messin around on other people's kits. My question is that when my band plays live, it seems like it's really hit or miss with me. Some nights, I'll be spot on, and surprise myself, others I have to dumb down parts just because I know I'm not going to play it correctly. Now I'd say 95% of the time at practice, I can nail all of the songs, the way I wrote them. It just seems like when I play live, the adrenaline gets pumping and it's hard to concentrate on playing with correct technique and everything. Hell, sometimes it even seems like based on how the sound is, my drums even play differently, or at least it feels like it. I'm assuming the only solution to this is just to practice more, and concentrate on technique. I was just wondering if there were any other things you guys do to stay calm and nail your parts while playing live. Thanks dudes!

Swiss Matthias

Platinum Member
I'm assuming the only solution to this is just to practice more, and concentrate on technique.
Noo! How did you come to that solution? The only way of getting used to playing live
is playing live!! You can't practice that.
The only moment where you play music is the moment you play music!

When you're playing music, forget about technique! Working on and worrying about
technique is what you do in the practice space, making music is what you do live, or
at band rehearsal.

Dr_Watso

Platinum Member
eat a big meal before you play. works for me.
That's sarcasm, I hope.