playing first show...nervous..

Ethan01

Hey guys, a little history about myself: I've been playing for 2 years, joined a band about a month ago and we have my first show happening in a week and a half. The problem is I'm already starting to feel a bit nervous about it, and Im worried that when the day comes I'll feel much worse. Drinking alcohol usually puts the edge off but I'm worried if I drink too much it'll hinder my playing. I practice with an electric snare at home almost everyday, and with the band twice a week. Do you guys change up your practice before a show, as in not play for a couple days, or do anything else to take the edge off? Should I just get hammered anyways? Any tips are appreciated!

jjmason777

Nerves are part of the game. It is totally normal to feel nervous before a gig. Once you start playing the first song, you will settle in, and you won't be nervous anymore. Until the next gig.

Now, my advice about the drinking...DO NOT GET HAMMERED before the show!!
Alcohol impairs your motor functions, your coordination, timing, all of it! If you drink a lot before the show, you will suck, and you'll be kicking yourself later for doing it, trust me.

Good luck with the gig, and let us know how it goes!

burnthehero

Pioneer Member
If you absolutely have to, limit yourself to one beer and one beer only before the gig. I know it's not the same with everybody, but if I'm even slightly intoxicated, my playing goes to utter crap. It's just good practice to not get into the habit of drinking a lot before you hit the stage.

About nerves...

Well, there's really not a whole lot you can do about it. I've found that the only real cure is to be as prepared as you possibly can. Have everything rehearsed to the point that you could play it without having to think much about what you're doing. The less you have to think about during the gig, the better.

Drummer Karl

KARL MEMBER