Overheating / effect on control

Nickd

This is perhaps a strange question, but bear with me.

I have been drumming for twenty years, but have made some significant changes to my technique over the last few years, for the better, partly due to encountering some physical problems like irritated nerves in the ride arm. I play mostly improvised music and jazz.

Technically, now, when I start to play in good conditions, things are generally fine. My control / touch feels good, I'm playing freely and with a minimum of tension. I can achive what I want to musically and play / practice for an ample amount of time.

However, good conditions equate to a reasonably cool room. If I start to play when the room is very hot, or I have been quite active beforehand, my arms feel tense, almost as if the blood flowing through them is constricting movement (my veins are up). I have to make a much more conscious effort to relax and even then it is hard to find the control that I have in the above conditions. I feel like I'm using the wrong muscles. It is also much more likely that I'll encounter pain, maybe after forty-five minutes of repetitive action on the ride.

I find these physiological changes exceptionally frustrating because they really have a dramatic effect on my playing. It feels like an obstacle to fight against, which probably increases my tension, and detracts my attention from the music. I don't know whether it has anything to do with my build. I'm slight.

Does anyone have any similar experience and / or suggestions for ways to counteract this? To recap, it's when the body feels like it's overheating prior to playing, with resulting tension and lack of control. I try to keep activity beforehand to a minimum but usually transporting bits of kit and setting it up has to be done, and I can't always help the room / climate temperature. I do make a conscious effort to relax / breath / drink water, and the music I mostly do gives me a chance to ease myself in.

Thanks.

Nick