Online Session Drumming

timlovesdrums

Hey everyone

I've been a pro online session drummer for just over 3 years now and am absolutely loving it.

However towards the end of last year it began to frustrate me more and more that drummers I knew (many much better than me) weren't getting work and were doing jobs they hated etc because they couldn't make drumming pay.

In order to do my bit and send some good karma out there, I've started a blog dedicated to helping drummers who are interested in the world of online session drumming. There are some videos, reports, advice on finding a studio, recording with bare minimum amounts of gear etc and also links to a free dvd which follows me round for a day and shows you what's involved etc

If you want to check it out its: http://www.projectdrums.com/blog

Would love to know your thoughts, feedback and if any of you are thinking of/already doing this stuff!

All the best,

Tim

www.timlovesdrums.com

DrummerJase

Dude I absolutely love your stuff- have to admit I've been following you for a while! Not in a stalker way obviously, just watching your vids and keeping up with the blog

Just started to get in to the recording for people thing from my home studio, but it's just been for friends so far as I don't have a website. Loved your video using 4 microphones - that's what I have so was good to see someone using that configuration!

Do you have any advice on where to get a website built? I don't need something really expensive like your timlovesdrums.com one, just something basic to get me going.

Thanks,
Jason

Nick G.

this is brilliant :)
even better as its pretty much the same mics i have (except i have s1a's)

some questions:

1. what is that plug in you used to add a sample to the snare ?
2. if doing session work for someone, would you mix it and send them a single file? or just the raw recorded files?