On Stage Communication

aydee

Platinum Member

Alright, I'm mad ( miffed ).

I'm come from a jazzy/funky background and as some of you might know, am playing with a reggae band these days. The rest of the guys in the band are from a rock/reggae headspace.

Last night we had a gig that I was a bit disappointed with. We played it alright but, despite my best efforts as a drummer, I couldn't get the band to change any gears all night. This band goes at one speed. It belts everything out.

I tried to give the band a little speech before the gig about ' let look at each other, lets mellow out some parts, lets play with dynamics, lets not play parts-lets play music, lets go real soft under the sax solo' and everyone nodded very earnestly. Yes, they all agreed. But come gig time, our 1 1/2 hour went exactly as I feared. Cape Canaveral rocket launch!!

I know this comes from not listening to others on stage, or getting some kind of 'stage persona' hang up where you arent communicating for whatever reason, or may just sheer inexperience, I dont know.

I think the guys who do it really well, do it with their ears. For others, an occasional exchange of looks, or when you are feeling something on a solo looking at the others guys to make the musical moment happen is important. It also keeps you from overplaying, I would think.

I don't know, man,.... I mean we pulled the gig off well and it was a tight set, and we got lots of compliments, but I was disappointed. I wouldn't want to hear something for an 1 1/2 at one dynamic level. No matter who's playing.

End-o-rant.

On stage communication. How important do you think it is? How do you guys deal with it?

bermuda

Drummerworld Pro Drummer - Administrator
Staff member
Communication sounds a bit formal, but working together is a must.