No Longer In Denial- I NEED A TEACHER!

fixxxer

I've been playing for a total of about 8 years- self taught. I've played with many people and currently in the praise band at church and then another classic rock style band. I've recently realized that I have hit a wall and my playing seems to be getting worse than it used to be. I feel limited and constrained with nothing new to give. This is much more than just the average "block" that we all go through from time to time. I used to get a lot of compliments on my playing, but now, I seem to get more weird looks than compliments.

I have never had anything against taking lessons. I just have always seemed to "get by" without it but I believe it is catching up with me now. I know I have taught myself bad habits along the way which may be the reason for my regression.

What can I expect from a teacher at this stage in my playing?
Will they evaluate where I am or just start with the basic rudiments? (I'm afraid this would bore me to tears and turn me off of the lessons, however, I am willing to be dedicated to the discipline).
What can I expect to pay for lessons?
How will I know if I have a good teacher or a bad one?

Thanks in advance for your replies. I'm looking forward to starting a new chapter in my playing.

T

TFITTING942

There are different types of teachers out there. Try to find out which type would suit you best. If you want to learn to read, they all start with rudiments. If you think you are advanced enough and don't need to actually read music, there are teachers who will just train you on the drumset. Usaually sitting side by side trading off riffs and fills, checking technique etc.

dairyairman

Platinum Member
i have a teacher even though i'm pretty far along with my playing and i've been in a bunch of original and cover bands.