newbie in a band

howidied

Hey im a newbie in playing in a band and also to playing lol. been playing for 6 months so far. ive got some decent first steps with my teacher but the more I play the more I learn I need to know lol :D well the problem is I used to play to a lot mp3s and there was no problem during that playing, especially when I had tabs in front of me. But things change when I play with a band. they had some songs done previously and I just came and started playing whatever came in mind. the only problem is when we play I got problems like really know when which part comes and when to make a drum fill or so. like the chorus ends and there comes the bridge but I still got problems when the chorus ends. got any tips on how to improve my band playing? thanks very much.

SgtThump

Platinum Member
Honestly? Listening to the songs over and over and over and becoming VERY familiar with them is your best bet. Make a CD and just listen to it constantly. That way you know when the parts change.

You can also make cheat notes, but I like learning them myself.

alparrott

Platinum Member
We recently had a thread on this topic:

http://www.drummerworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=91388

However, it sounds like there's some more basic stuff that you might want to get comfortable with, and that's just song structure in general. We hear music all the time, with verses, choruses, soloing, etc. But do we listen to it?

Many genres of music have their tropes, structures that don't change much from song to song. You may have heard the phrase "12-bar blues" before. That refers to a very basic blues song structure that is recognizable and predictable, and exists in hundreds of songs.

In rock music, some of the most recognizable tropes or "standard structures" are:
- verse-chorus-verse.
- soft verse, loud chorus (popularized by many, perfected by Nirvana).