New in Forum! Help with 64 Ludwig kit

usrockband

Hey guys!

Little introduction, Im from north of Toronto, Ontario. Ive been playing drums for about 7 years. I play in an indie/alternative/pop band called Swaying Tuesdays ( http://www.reverbnation.com/swayingtuesdays , we are on iTunes) as the drummer. I play currently on 2 kits; ones a 1964 Ludwig 4 piece Kit owned by my dad when he was in his teens, and another is a Pearl BLX 6 piece kit stripped down to a 4 piece (Im not a fan of giant rack kits, but prefer the smaller 4 piece/ 5 piece kits). I'll post pics of both later, but have a question about the Ludwig kit.

I've spent some days trying to find some skins for this kit. I bought Aquarian response 2's for the tom batters and Aquarian Clasic Clear's for the reso's. I cant seem to tune these skins properly on this kit for starters, using a tension metre, the only way i could get even tension all the way around was by removing lugs. And when i finally get all the skins to an even tension, the drums sound totally dead unless mic'd. Now i've tried several different tensions only receiving the same results, and have tried tap tuning with the same result. I want to replace whatever skins i have to to make these drums sound more lively in general, but have no idea as to what skins would sound good. My questions are, what skins do you guys think would be worth trying? and do you think the dead-sound of the drum is even caused by skins? or is there a chance its just the drum.

I should add the shells are in great shape, the things sat around wrapped in garbage bags for 20+ years. The snare and bass drum sound amazing the way i have them currently setup, but im dissapointed with the toms.

Help please! :O

tamadrm

Platinum Member
My vintage Ludwigs sound great with either Ambassadors ;coated batter and clear or coated reso.They also sound good with Emperors and Ludwig weathermaster mediums.