need help with tuning

rubber ducky

hey guys,
as i said before i am new to drumming and need some help. when i am tunning my tom's and bass there is way too much resonance comming from them. i any hearing about 4-5 seconds of resonance and need a way to bring it down.
i have heard of tape but have heard it wreaks your heads and should only be used as a quick fix.
also heard of a pillow in the bass so i shall try it tomorrow
i have no were to put dampeners on my drum heads as the is no ring to put them under.

how can i fix this problem? i was thinking of getting new drum heads as i have heard stock ones are crap

also how many seconds should i hear resonance for?

shrink

I can maybe help here...

Im only just recently getting back into drums after a 10 year gap... and for the first time in ages, was faced with having to tune toms.. and this is what ive learned:

-get good heads... remo ambassador are nice, and im leaning towards prefering the dual ply remo emperor. I ended up (by mistake) having one emperor in my set, and discovered it was easier to tune, and with less complex overtones, so i'll try to pick up a few more.

-start by having only the TOP head on the drum... and tune this up nicely. Start by getting the skin just tight enough to create a tone, and then build up to the one your looking for.
THEN, put the bottom head on, and tune it slightly higher than the top head. This will help to kill some of the resonance and create a more punchy sound.

-if its taking too much tweaking, take it off and start again. Dont endlessly tweak a tuned drum, you'll go mad and just end up going in circles.

nicotine25