Need Advice on cymbals

Hi everyone, I am new to drumming and don't exactly know what different kinds of cymbals I should have. I am interested in playing anything from alternative to heavy metal like slayer, LoG, etc. So, my question is how many different cymbals would be deemed appropriate for this style of music?
How many crashes (sizes), splashes (sizes), etc?
I know for sure that I will be buying a Zildjian oreintal china but I think I would need at least two in different sizes correct?

beatdat

As a new drummer, I don’t recommend you start with anything more than a 4-piece kit, plus hi-hats, ride and a crash, regardless of what styles you want to learn.

Save the extra bells and whistles for when you’re ready for them. They’re too much for now, and usually lead newer drummers to end up compensating for shortcomings rather than tackle them head on.

You have to learn how to crawl and walk before you can run.

Peedy

Only thing I’d add is get quality if you can afford it. Zildjian A or Sabian AA or similar would be ideal to start. Oddly, I would say my cymbals are more important to me than my drums.

Only thing I’d add is get quality if you can afford it. Zildjian A or Sabian AA or similar would be ideal to start. Oddly, I would say my cymbals are more important to me than my drums.
What is the difference between the A or AA and all that? Im thinking of getting a new crash and ride and over the months a 14 or 18 china. I got the pearl roadshow kit, the drums are good but I hear the cymbals are horrible.

Mustion

What is the difference between the A or AA and all that? Im thinking of getting a new crash and ride and over the months a 14 or 18 china. I got the pearl roadshow kit, the drums are good but I hear the cymbals are horrible.
Zildjian A are the analog to Sabian AA and vice versa; different brands, similar concept. Solid all-rounder cymbals, good for pretty much any genre. Buy used if you can.

KamaK

Platinum Member