Name calling....

Nancy_C

So,

i got called a great pocket player. thats good right?
I'd rather be called "a great pocket player" than "technically proficient, but .."

It might be the best compliment one can get from fellow musicians, because it means they enjoy playing with you!

93civEJ1

it was an audience member...haha

Just a local blues jam. Think it was a guy that I saw playing saxophone and singing.

I had got done playing and had a few people ask me who I am playing with / for etc.

Icetech

Gold Member
Man.. best compliment i would ever want.. nothing better than a drummer that can just hang in the pocket and make it groove... awesome :)

tcspears

Gold Member
It depends on the gig; I know when I first went to school I started playing with a jazz ensemble, and the teacher kept yelling at me to "get out of the pocket"

Our first day of ensemble, he passed out a Cole Porter song that had been reharmed and the meter was changed to 7/4, and then just counted it off for us to play. The bass player and I were both from trad jazz/swing stuff and came up with a cool groove to get through the song, but 2 bars into the B section the teacher topped the whole band and looked at us angrily and said: "Why are you two playing the grid? This isn't middle school jazz band". It was embarrassing, but he stopped the group 3 or 4 more times to yell at us to stop playing in the pocket.

That being said, taking a blues class at the same school, years later, they had to spend the first few weeks teaching everyone how to play in the pocket, and I was already ahead of the curve lol. It was funny to see so many brilliant players and all of them struggling with trying to play time!

Anyways, that's a long winded way of saying that it could be good or bad depending on the gig!

93civEJ1

It depends on the gig; I know when I first went to school I started playing with a jazz ensemble, and the teacher kept yelling at me to "get out of the pocket"