My plan to learn drums from scratch - could it work?

ZaggyStardrum

Hi all. It's been about 8 months since I picked up a bass and about 3 i picked up a guitar (self-taught), and now I can play simple stuff easily and I would consider myself kind of "an advanced beginner, but not yet an intermediate". I also study music theory regularly.
It's about 4 months I play cajon in a percussion orchestra (2 guitars, bass, about 25 cajons and other percussion) and since I would really like to play drums but I don't have money for lessons I thought: why, instead of starting with the "standard" 5-piece don't I start with just kick and snare (which are equivalent to the two main hits on cajon), then after i kind of got that I add in a hi-hat, then a tom, then a ride, then a crash, then a floor tom etc. and discover how to use and integrate them in my playing? I thought that It could be a good way to develop my own style and to learn from the very basis, such as simple, very primal grooves, and by adding other pieces in my kit, making my way to refined, more elaborate styles of playing.
I already am developing a personal style of mine on cajon, when we reharse sometimes we do a very long jam at the end when we just stick onto a groove and release all of our energy there, and we vary speed, attack etc, and the real fun in this comes from varying the main riff, adding subtle ghost hits and making the groove truly yours, and our maestro noticed me doing this and told me that it was remarkable how my variations really made sense and worked, so I guess I'm pretty fitting for drumming
Do you think I could develop bad habits this way? I don't wanna end up having the random, redundant style of Lars Ulrich, but neither learn stuff completely textbook and get too "standardized".
And yes, I'm willing to practice to death with a metronome, I'm not a kid that just wants piss my parents of.

Push pull stroke

Platinum Member
There are many paths to the top of the mountain. 😀