Motivation problems

ToolfanTrever

Lately I've been having motivation problems to play drums...I'm 18 I've been playing for a year and a half, self-taught never took any lessons, I play to music everyday bout an hour a day. I want to make a career out of music (in a band) but many times I feel like I've started playing music to late to be able to make a career out of it and it's kind of discouraging which leads to lack of motivation, it's hard to keep positive attitude and everything when it's extremely hard to make it in the music biz...Any advice?

Arky

Platinum Member
Hi.

1) You could do a search on this forum which would yield a lot related info, this topic is dealt with regularly.

2) Lack of motivation is being discussed on the Derek Roddy forum:
Lack of motivation and how to do deal with it...
http://www.derekroddy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=20782

3) We had a thread recently by a 23-old wondering whether it's too late to become a good/pro drummer. Reading that thread should provide some good info, too. I'll upgrade the link as soon as I'll find that thread. --- Can't find it ATM, but it was something like "Am I too old to..." or to this effect.
(EDIT: @ Bobbytard: Thanks for the link! -> See post #6)

You've outlined your goals in a not-too-clear way. Depending on what exactly (genre etc) you're after a good teacher or getting into proper technique ASAP (at least checking how much damage your self-taught way of playing has done - if any) and good command of basic rudiments would be a must. Also, to determine the means to get you to a goal with the goal not clearly defined is a bit difficult. And your goals might (and most likely will) change due to your age. We all evolve, that's a most natural occurrence. Thus, your focus on drumming might change accordingly.

As for motivation in general. There are several aspects/"tricks" to it but eventually you have to find a strategy for yourself. Not all of us are made to become pro drummers - just saying.