Modern Drummer, or DRUM! mags...any educational value?

haroldo_psf

newbie here... playing for about 6 months.

I was wondering if a subscription to either Modern Drummer OR Drum! magazine would have any educational value, or is it mostly a bunch of advertisement for new gear?

bermuda

Drummerworld Pro Drummer - Administrator
Staff member
In terms of learning about drums, drummers, and drumming, there's certainly educational value. We all want to keep learning and growing, right? But in terms of those magazines replacing or augmenting lessons, no, there's not much of that kind of content. But that was never their intent.

Bermuda

haroldo_psf

In terms of learning about drums, drummers, and drumming, there's certainly educational value. We all want to keep learning and growing, right? But in terms of those magazines replacing or augmenting lessons, no, there's not much of that kind of content. But that was never their intent.

Bermuda
Well, I consider that educational. Any preference as far as Drum! over MD?

GruntersDad

Administrator - Mayor
Staff member
If you want a good magazine with lessons, and a play along CD in every issue you need to subscribe to DrumHead Magazine. It comes out every other month but is well worth it. Check one out at a music store near you and see what you think. I stopped getting Drum because I feel this magazine is so much better. My 2 cents

DrumEatDrum

Platinum Member
I've had a subscription to Modern Drummer since 1988 or so.
Like Bermuda said, it doesn't replace lessons, but I have learned a ton about gear, who played on what, and what goes into being a drummer. There are lessons as well. Some times I take the time to work on them. But there are often so many in each issue, it's difficult to keep up.

I agree with GRUNTERSDAD, Drumhead magazine is very well done.