Managing A Band / Contracts

Witterings

Silver Member
Hi all,
Does anyone know if there's a standard Management Contract available anywhere between a Manager of a Band and the Band themselves ????

I've found and decided to try and manage a band locally who have reached the regional finals of The Surface Festival.

We've agreed to give it a 6 month trial basis on both sides, partially as I've never done this before (don't think Epstein had either) and don't know how it will affect / encroach on my normal work life and obvioulsy they want to see if I can start getting them some eposure / publicity and bigger gigs / festivals than they're already getting.

I don't want to be left in a situation though where I work my butt off for them, they're on the verge of making it / going bigger and someone else steps in after 6 months and 1 day and reaps the benefits of all the work I've done by promising them the earth to entice them away.
Anybody any idea's how this could be worded and I could protect myself to have the right to then sign them up for a longer period, they're looking at it mainly from the point that if I'm not doing anything for them they don't want to be tied in indefinitely which I can also totally understand.
If in 6 months I hadn't been able to acheive anything for them and felt it was a waste of mine and their time I'd release then from any contract anyway as there would be no point but don't know how any of this could be made official to protect both parties best interests???
Anybody any bright idea's or been in a similar situation before, would welcome any input anyone may have !!!!

tamadrm

Platinum Member
+1 on that and as an aside to Brian Epstein..being that the family owned a music store that he worked in...he did have contacts in the biz,and a good sense of what to do and where to go if he didn't have an answer to a particular question.