Ludwig Black Beauty owners, is this normal?

lukesigua

Hi guys,

Newbie here!! Glad to be finally part of this forum. Anyway.. I've had a Ludwig Black Beauty for a while now and just recently I noticed these "spots" on the shell. In the picture, they look like dust spots on the shell, but I cannot wipe them away and they're pretty consistent throughout the whole shell, except on the parts covered by the rims. Not sure if they were already there when I got it or I just wasn't paying attention. It's also worth mentioning that the shell is SMOOTH. No roughness at all. Which makes it look like the spots are "inside" the shell or the plating, if that makes sense.

The drum sounds phenomenal and is functioning perfectly. I'm also pretty sure it's legit. Just wondering if this was normal and if other owners have this as well.

I'm also open to the idea that this was exposed to something somewhere, like heat or too much moisture.

Thanks,
Luke

Attachments

Last edited:

basset52

Hi guys,

Newbie here!! Glad to be finally part of this forum. Anyway.. I've had a Ludwig Black Beauty for a while now and just recently I noticed these "spots" on the shell. In the picture, they look like dust spots on the shell, but I cannot wipe them away and they're pretty consistent throughout the whole shell. Not sure if they were already there when I got it or I just wasn't paying attention. It's actually like those spots are from the brass shell, and can be seen through the nickel plating. I know the plating is supposed to be solid black but it just feels that way.

The drum sounds phenomenal and is functioning perfectly. I'm also pretty sure it's legit. Just wondering if this was normal and if other owners have this as well.

I'm also open to the idea that this was exposed to something somewhere, like heat or too much moisture.

Thanks,
Luke
I have the same as yours with the tube lugs. Just had a quick look. I have nothing like that on mine at all - just grubby fingerprints.

Chunkaway