left hand strengthening: the next step?

bonhamdrummer123

I have just been doing 16th note patterns with the majority of the strokes being with the left hand at 40 bmp. I'm not sure if this is the best way to get comfortable with the weak hand, but I do a heck of a lot of strokes every day so I think it could pay off, so that might be something you could do.

larryace

"Uncle Larry"
There are many ways to strengthen the left hand. I find playing a left hand lead shuffle pattern is extremely beneficial.

steviebrutal

Hey all, first post on these forums so I want to extend a friendly hello and a thanks in advance for any guidance you can offer me.

I've been playing the drumkit for about 9 years now, with some degree of layoff over the last 1-2 years. Recently I have been listening to alot of stuff from drummers like Jost Nickel, Dave Dicenso, and Jojo Mayer -- all guys with incredible hands. I got to play around with Dave a little during my time at Berklee; he is an absolute monster, but I always remember one thing he commented on about my playing that has been bothering me ever since,

"Dude you are a beast on those grooves, but without that left hand in the same shape as your right -- you are always gonna be playing catch up."

He had me playing some Gadd-inspired linear grooves while he played polyrhythms over my time. I always thought he meant that my ghost notes were inconsistent or something. But I don't think I ever understood what he truly meant until I started practicing rudiment-based solos a few years ago. My left hand is so weak and looks significantly different from my right hand from a technical perspective. It makes it very hard to construct solos/fills because of this. I can hack my way through basic stickings, but its still not very clean.

My question to you all is: Do you have any tips/exercises for strengthening my left hand?