Learning Percussion

dxdrummer

Hey guys,

I've been a drummer for 8 years, and I've been interested in getting into percussion as well. I'm mostly looking at bongos, congas, and timbales, but I'm also interested in learning keyboard instruments (xylophone, marimba, vibraphone, etc) and some of the simpler auxiliary percussion (cowbell & triangle)

For those of you who play percussion, how did you learn? Are there any sites you'd recommend, or is the best way to just get a teacher? (I'm in college so I don't have the time/money for a teacher)

W

wy yung

Try Conga place.com Great site.

The best books for congas are IMO those by Tomas Cruz. There are three volumes.

http://www.wikio.com/books/mel-bay-the-tomas-cruz-conga-method-vol-i-conga-technique-as-taught-in-cuba-book-dvd-0786670819-807514,b.html

Tito Puente and Jim Payne wrote a decent timbale book. Chanquito's book is also good.

Some of the bongo books are a bit iffy. I cannot really recommend one over another.

There are Latin music threads on site where I have left links as well.

Good luck.

randrade89

Hello there. For keyboard instruments I would recommend the modern school book by Morris Goldenberg. I used it a lot at the conservatory.

stevedrum

Just about almost 2 years ago I was in your exact same situation. I was learning drums for almost 5 years and I wanted to get into percussion and mallet percussion. I think the best way to go is finding a teacher, usually you would have to find 2 seperate teachers actually. If you want books then i suggest you go to amazon and try search there. For hand percussions (congas, bongos etc.) its quite difficult to find a good book as there aren't a lot available.

cathartic_j

Hey guys,