Joan Jet - I love rock and roll

Steve.B

Hi All,

I am relatively new to drumming and have got together with a few guys locally to play some tunes. We are starting with I love rock and roll and listening to it, it seems to sort of stutter a couple of times, you can best hear it at the end of the song. I am a bit stuck as to how to count this so was hoping some of you guys could help.

Steve.B

topper-hardy

Hi there,
I just listened to the song and the song changes a few times for either 3/4 and 2/4.
The last bar before every chorus is in 2/4 and every fourth bar in chorus 1 and 2 is in 3/4.
In chorus 3, the first four bars are regular 4/4, but after that every fourth bar is again in 4/4.

Did a quick search and found chart and youtube video from drumstheword, on his site you‘ll also find a drum chart.

Have fun with it.

Kind regards from Germany,
Topper

SmoothOperator

Gold Member
Hi there,
I just listened to the song and the song changes a few times for either 3/4 and 2/4.
The last bar before every chorus is in 2/4 and every fourth bar in chorus 1 and 2 is in 3/4.
In chorus 3, the first four bars are regular 4/4, but after that every fourth bar is again in 4/4.

Did a quick search and found chart and youtube video from drumstheword, on his site you‘ll also find a drum chart.

Have fun with it.

Kind regards from Germany,
Topper
I listened to it, I'm not sure those are really metric changes, as much as breaks. I'd look for hand signals, rather than trying to churn through it.

jornthedrummer

Silver Member
From memory, the last bar of every chorus only have 3 beats in it

So you count 1, 2, 3 quarter notes. And start on 1 again.

Safest is to count.

bermuda

Drummerworld Pro Drummer - Administrator