Jazz - Swinging/Cookin'

Pollyanna

Platinum Member
I like this conversation too, Andrew. I wonder about this a lot, maybe more than anything. In recent times I've been coming to think that "switching on" to play is not ideal, as opposed to striving to be in the zone 24/7 in daily life.

I'm not sure it's made sense for me to be slapdash and unfocused all day and then (hopefully) switch on for a few hours before returning to my usual sloppy, slapdash self. I think focus is the key, striving for clarity and never letting my ego drive the bus.

Easy peasy - all that's needed is to change the habits of a lifetime :)

haredrums

Silver Member
Pollyana I meant that in a general sense that your goal is to be able to achieve that feel at will rather than have it come as a random happening. Kelly thanks for your question. I would say yes that I experience the groove (for lack of a better term) on a regular basis. Please understand that I have been playing drums for 44 years and have had the good fortune to play with some exceptional musicians who helped me get to that place where I can "get there" more often than not. Frankly a lot of it came from experience and a growing maturity in my playing. As I mentioned, when you get to the point where you are not so concerned about WHAT you are playing but HOW you are playing it affords you the opportunity to concentrate more on what others are doing and sharing the musical experience.
Great conversation guys,

And I totally am with you on this Pete. I think the key thing that you mentioned is the idea of concentrating on what the other people in the band are doing. I would add that when I feel the most locked into the groove, I also feel as if I am just listening to myself.

This is a difficult experience to describe but it is as if I am no longer thinking about the music or what I am playing, I am just responding to my musical imagination in a completely uninhibited way. That is what I mean by "listening to myself".