ipad or tablet? and general advice

meauxjeaux

I recently started learning the drums about 3 weeks ago so i have very limited knowledge concerning all things drumming. I have been watching/practicing lessons from youtube and was thinking about buying an ipad or a tablet so i can have access to the lessons next to me. Do you guys recommend one or the other? I don't want to buy one and then later on down the line realize that i am limited based on compatibility or lack of apps. I know this may be a silly question for some of you but like i said I'm totally new at this. Thanks in advance for any help you guys can give me!

SgtThump

Platinum Member
Apple iPads are very cool and they started a revolution, but you pay for that name and legacy. The last I heard was that the Google Android operating system finally passed the Apple OS as being the most used.

My recommendation is to get a tablet based on the Android operating system. There shouldn't be a shortage of apps and you'll save a few hundred dollars.

I'd also consider one of the numerous $399 laptops, though, if you really don't want to be limited (not talking about apps, but horsepower and features - ie CD burner, keyboard, USB ports, etc...)

Magenta

Platinum Member
I am in love with my iPad (I sleep with it under the pillow!). Mr Madge is in love with his Google Nexus (but he doesn't sleep with it). My one reservation about the iPad is that some YouTube content won't play on it, which is enormously irritating. I don't know if that happens with the Nexus. The biggest plus-point for the iPad compared to the Nexus is the app Anytune Pro+. I couldn't live without this app for learning new songs.

CreeplyTuna

Silver Member