If you were a drum instructor... I need your help.

MrKodySka

I am 17 years old and play drums around town and at my church for the student ministries (Ages 13-18). I have been approached on more than one occasion about giving some of the kids lessons. I thought it would be a good idea because I don't have a real job and I could make a few bucks to fuel my drumming needs. I am not by any means a professional drummer but I definitely have chops on the kit, (Im not a beginner) , so I would only be able to teach kids the basics and intermediate stuff like that, but I have NO IDEA where I would start? What do you teach the kid first? An order of lessons would be great, and how much should I charge per hour? Seems how I am not a Pro and could probably use some lessons myself? I can read basic drum charts and stuff like that. If you are a drum instructor and you could 'Show me the ropes' of a basic lesson. That would be great!

A

audiotech

Redundant thread??? Many students get annoyed at repetition and so goes for the people reading double threads.

Dennis

Zickos

Gold Member
The first thing I do with new students is ask them what they want to do, where they want to go. The second thing I do is get them to play so I can see where they are. In posting this thread in the first place, you seem like a smart kid. Teach them to play time in several different forms. I believe you can figure out the rest

MrKodySka

Redundant thread??? Many students get annoyed at repetition and so goes for the people reading double threads.

Dennis
Yeah that was my bad. I felt like I worded the topic of this one weird so I made a new one but I cant figure out how to delete one.

LukeSnyder

Gold Member