I want to be a better drummer, where do i start?

Jhanes

What do i do? i have been a drummer for almost ten years, but no lessons. i have just started taking drumming seriously for maybe 3 years, most of my habits are healthy, i need work on my foot work but if you give me something to play i can get it down. i am wondering where do i go from here? I am in a band, i play well enough to where i get people that want me to play with them and they have been playing for years. It feels nice for compliments but where do i go? What groves do i start with? What do i do to get better? I know even the greatest drummers could still take lessons and apply them? What is something i should want as a drummer even though i am well enough to play and perform?

Pocket-full-of-gold

Platinum Member
What about something you can't do now, but would like to? Is there a fill or patten or beat that you've thought sounded cool but never tried? Do any of your drumming mates pull off stuff that you've always thought 'gee I wish I could play that'? Can you check out a few drummers from different genres for example and try to play a few of their licks and apply it back to what you're doing now?

Then there's also lessons. Get a teacher or follow a few lessons from reputable sources in youtube etc. Online lessons with guys from another country. Try out different world rythms and try to apply it to your current style.

The choices here really are endless. Your imagination will be your only limiting factor.

Good luck man.

Jhanes

well i completely agree with all the things you have stated. my biggest thing right now is i want to learn to play like the drummer from Between the Buried and me. haha he is insane. i think i could do it, it is just a litlle tough trying to imagine what he is doingon a few parts of every song.

Pocket-full-of-gold

Platinum Member
it is just a litlle tough trying to imagine what he is doingon a few parts of every song.