How to learn to think in phrases?

sciomako

Silver Member
Many great drummers say they think in phrases. But I don't know where to start. Being a beginner, I think mostly in stickings and where the downbeats are. But apparently, interesting musical phrases don't always start at the downbeats and don't always correspond to well-known stickings.

One thing I can think of is: listen to other music instruments and borrow their melodies as a starting point of my phrases. Does this make sense?

What else can do I to break away from focusing on the sticking and the subdivision grid?

madgolfer

A simple introduction to this might be to play your favorite 4-bar melodies on drums, as you say. Many jazz drummers, for example (albeit an advanced one), take transcriptions of Charlie Parker's alto saxophone solos and try to reproduce them on the drums. I know many more who don't solo over forms unless they can first play the melody of a given song on drums. This can work in any genre. Drummers can't play real melodies, but we can recreate the contour, rhythm, articulation and dynamics and approximate the phrase. This is a good way to learn form and be really expressive in terms of your phrasing, because you are tapping into musical ideas originally meant to be played by other instruments.

To get a feel of this, start with simple melodies. Blues or blues/rock works very well for this. I have many of my students take stickings right out of the picture. If we start with simple melodies and play either single-handed lines (a la Roy Haynes) or compound stickings (hands together, a la Max Roach), you can focus on expression and getting the "feel" for the length of phrases.