How to get a covers band to play original material?

Chromium

How do I get my covers band to consider original material?

I'm the drummer in a covers trio and we've gone down very well at the couple of gigs we've played so far. We're all over forty and all experienced musicians. We're working together very well and adding to our repertoire very quickly. We have around 50 Rock 'n Roll classics which we can build a set list from, everything from The Everlys, Roy Orbison and Chuck Berry to ELO, UB40 and even The Proclaimers. All good so far. Pub gigs and weddings are our target market.

However, I've been a musician for over thirty five years in one capacity or another and I have written a lot of original songs in that time; material from punk and rock to country

I would like to do original material, so I can upload our efforts to sites like ReverbNation etc. and in the future play festivals etc. I don't want to upload our recordings as it will effectively breach copyrights.

But it's so difficult to convince them to attempt original material as the other band members are very set in their ways and seem reluctant to even consider original material. Does anyone have any suggestions?

I don't want to leave the band as I think we're good together and have a real commercial offering.

Arky

Platinum Member
If that orig. music is good/interesting enough (I assume so) it's worth being played. So I don't comprehend why your fellow musos don't want to even take a listen and maybe get surprised.

Now if your band isn't willing to implement some orig. music - I'd form another band additionally to do so.
(You know, being in contact with various musos = having more influence to draw from and ultimately, a broader genre/opinion pool to work with.)
Else I see that conflict going on - which would frustrate me in the longer term.

SquadLeader

Gold Member